Robert Giuffra Honored with Judge Simon H. Rifkind Award from the Jewish Theological Seminary

March 20, 2019

S&C litigation partner Robert Giuffra is this year’s recipient of the Judge Simon H. Rifkind Award, given by the Jewish Theological Seminary, as featured in an article in The New York Law Journal.  Robert was honored at an event on March 14 and the award was presented to him by his fellow S&C litigation partner, Sharon Nelles. Robert is the second S&C partner to receive this award as Vince DiBlasi, his deceased mentor and S&C partner, was the recipient of this award in 2013.  Robert was honored for his public service and leadership in the legal community throughout his entire career.  The award is presented annually to a lawyer who exemplifies Judge Rifkind’s love of the law and his commitment to public service.

A fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, Robert has served in all three branches of the U.S. government. He was a law clerk to Chief Justice William Rehnquist and Judge Ralph Winter of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit. He was also the Chief Counsel of the U.S. Senate Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs from 1995 to 1996 and a primary drafter of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. He also served in the White House.

Robert has served on New York’s Permanent Commission on Access to Justice, the State Commission on Public Integrity, the State Ethics Commission, the State-Federal Judicial Council, the Commercial Division Advisory Council, the Southern District Magistrate Judge Selection Panel and the Commission on Attorney Discipline, among other public service positions. He has also served as president of the Federal Bar Council.

His recent client work has included representations of Volkswagen and Fiat Chrysler Automobiles in their diesel emissions cases, as well as major wins for Goldman Sachs and UBS last year.

The award was established in 1996 in recognition of Judge Rifkind’s exemplary life. Other recipients include Arthur Liman, Robert Fiske, Robert Morgenthau and Evan Chesler.